Dear Dee,

My 7-year-old does not want to cuddle…she’s developing her personality, and there is no room for mum and her warm body. She is not as clingy as when she was just a baby. I wonder why Grace only hugs me when I come home after a long time, and then it’s back to “no touching.” I miss the days when it was only us; she’d have that intoxicating baby smell. Guess time does fly, and it’s been more than half a decade of my little grace blooming.

I’ve been thinking about my mother lately, and how, out of all her three children, I was the most aloof to her presence. Could this be why Grace is being distant? However, I recall a time in my early twenties when my mom and I were close. Then, something earth-shattering happened in my life, and she was the solid rock I needed to remain standing.

In one of my bleak hours, my mother took me in her arms and let me cry my heart out. I was devastated, but the fact that I did not need to say a word for her to comfort me was the best remedy for me. In that warm embrace, I discovered her unconditional love for me. I was not the best daughter and certainly gave her heartache occasionally, but she loved me anyway. Truly, a mother’s hug is one of the most comforting things in the world. It is a gesture of love, acceptance, and security that can make you feel like you are home. It makes the world go round, so I thought I’d share some tips on my mother’s embrace with you.

How a Mother’s Hug Can Make You Feel:

A mother’s hug can spur various emotions in their child. When I hug my little one, I mostly intended for her to feel a certain type of way or just know that I love her. From the hugs and kisses that I got from my mother growing up, these are the feelings I felt;

Secure and Comforted

When you feel scared or uncertain, a mother’s hug can provide a sense of security and comfort. It is a physical reminder that you are not alone and that someone is there to shelter and support you. When I was going through a tough time with no end in sight, my mother’s hug reassured me that morning comes after a dark night. I remember crying into her shirt till it was damp, then feeling good enough to bake with her that same day. It was good to know that I always had someone to open my heart to at any moment.

To tell you the truth Dee, I do hope Grace feels the same way, that mommy is a haven she can run to.

Safe and Protected

Another emotion connected to a mother’s hug is the feeling of protection and safety. It is a way to shield yourself from the outside world and the challenges it may bring. It is a moment of respite from the stress and anxieties of everyday life. Like a thick hedge around a home, a mother’s hug can make it seem like all that is wrong with the world cannot stop sunshine from reaching you. Of course, it could be the feel-good hormones released when she hugs you, but we all grew up thinking mom is the superhero that fights all our monsters.

Loved and Accepted

A mother’s hug can make you feel loved and accepted. It is a way to connect with someone on an emotional level and to feel a sense of belonging. It is a reminder that you are valued and cherished.

When I had just delivered my little ladybug, the nurse placed her on my chest and I felt a sense of ease wash over me. Kangaroo care is the first thing a new mother is introduced to because her and the baby are still inseparable. During that time of bonding, love flows and the baby is no longer afraid of the new enivornment outside the womb.

I think hugs are an embodiment of acceptance because when a mother hugs you she is welcoming you into her physical space. There is no longer distance between you and that to me is a sign that she accepts you for who you are. That to me is love, the warm kind that sparks a fuzzy feeling.

The Power of a Mother’s Hug:

A mother’s hug has both physical and emotional benefits. It can:

Physical Benefits:

  • Reduce stress and anxiety
  • Lower blood pressure
  • Boost the immune system
  • Increase levels of the hormone oxytocin, which promotes feelings of bonding and attachment

Emotional Benefits:

  • Improve mood and well-being
  • Increase feelings of security and safety
  • Strengthen the bond between mother and child
  • Promote a sense of connection and belonging

How to Make the Most of a Mother’s Hug:

Today is mother’s day and I think this letter came just in time. We may not celerbarate out mothers every day, but we should atleast not miss out on today. How about doing something special for a mother this Sunday. Also, while you are at it, sneak in a hug or two.

Happy Mother’s Day

To make the most of a mother’s hug, try the following:

Hug Frequently

Make hugging a regular part of your relationship with your mother. It doesn’t have to be a long embrace; even a quick hug can provide comfort and release stress and tension.

Squeeze Tightly

When you hug your mother, make sure to squeeze tightly. A firm hug can provide a greater sense of security and comfort. However, be mindful of your mother’s physical comfort and adjust your hug accordingly.

Be Mindful

When you hug your mother, be present at the moment. Focus on the physical sensation of the hug and the emotional connection it brings. Avoid distractions and take the time to appreciate the comfort and love that a mother’s hug can provide.

A mother’s arms are more comforting than anyone else’s.

– Princess Diana

A mother’s hug is a powerful gesture of love, acceptance, and security that can make you feel like you are home. It has physical and emotional benefits that can improve your mood, well-being, and connection. By creating hugging a regular part of your relationship with your mother and being mindful during the embrace, you can make the most of this powerful gesture and enjoy the comfort and love that a mother’s hug can bring.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑